SMaR: Day 1 Finding a Beginning

header1 copy

I’ve had the brilliant idea to make a robot. But I have no idea where to even start.
After googling ‘robot do it yourself’ I found myself getting a little depressed. All of the robots were either lego kits or the DIY element of it was as much as assembling ready made parts to create a remote controlled, or even static, robot.
This is not what I want. I want to build a robot that does things because it’s programmed to do them. I want to solder things onto a motherboard. I want to do stuff with circuits and programming.
Finally after googling all possible versions of ‘make your own robot’ I end up here:
http://letsmakerobots.com/start
This site is brilliant. It has a shopping list of items you need, videos of how to build the thing and some handy tips.
This is going to be my tutorial. I intend to do as much as I can myself without asking for help, but knowing there’s a forum in case anything goes badly wrong is nice.
So for the rest of this website, remember, I am following the Let’s make Robots Tutorial. I’m not going to rehash what that tutorial says, but I’ll use it as my guidelines and I’ll link you to relevant sites. So make sure you’re ready to click some links if you’re reading this.

2 responses to “SMaR: Day 1 Finding a Beginning

  1. Pingback: Sophie Makes a Robot | Science Communication Blog Network·

  2. Pingback: The Week in Science (April 8 – 14) | Science Communication Blog Network·

Leave a Reply

